Recognizing the wild success of its brand, Rovio Mobile just announced Angry Birds has now moved onto another platform – The Google Chrome Web Store! – Wow…  Angry Birds on the browser.  Now that is groovy! Earlier we talked about the importance around having your own App Store with great content so this is a huge win for the Google App Store.  Oh, and since you can only play Angry Birds on the Chrome browser, I’m sure this won’t hurt further defections over to Chrome either especially with the recent release of the new ChromeBook. Anyway, back to Angry Birds, according to the announcement, the game is officially “beta” however, it includes 63 levels, can be played on anything that can run Chrome (Windows, MAC, Linux etc..) and oh, did I mention it’s free?

Grab a copy of the app before the beta ends and they start charging for it.  Overall, the playability and graphics are great.  I feel like I’m playing the game on my iPad and at 40 frames per second, you’ll be playing nice and smoothly (with hardware acceleration on or off).

And of course, you now me, I love screencasts so here’s a sneak peak at the game if your not quite sure if you should go grab the game!

Have fun! Now all I need is for all the other Apps on my iPhone to be ported to Chrome and I’d never need to give up my phone. :) Comment Name * Email *

Δ  Save my name and email and send me emails as new comments are made to this post.

Weekend Fun    Angry Birds Flies to the Google Chrome App Store - 5Weekend Fun    Angry Birds Flies to the Google Chrome App Store - 46Weekend Fun    Angry Birds Flies to the Google Chrome App Store - 96Weekend Fun    Angry Birds Flies to the Google Chrome App Store - 70